ACHD Commission names new President, Vice President

Garden City – The first Commission meeting of each new calendar year marks the date for the appointment of new leadership on the Ada County Highway District Commission. Today (January 8, 2020), the ACHD Commission voted to elect Commissioner Mary May as the new President, and Commissioner Kent Goldthorpe will serve as the Vice President.

The President of the ACHD Commission sets the agenda for each Commission meeting, conducts the Commission meetings, and is the official spokesperson of the Commission. The Vice President serves in the absence of the President.

This is Commissioner May’s second year as Commissioner of District 3, and Commissioner Goldthorpe will be entering his sixth year as the Commissioner of District 4.

In general, Commission meetings are held each Wednesday of the month at noon at the ACHD Auditorium located at 3775 Adams Street in Garden City. The meeting on the fourth Wednesday of each month is held at 6 p.m. (though holidays may affect this schedule, and there is no meeting on a fifth Wednesday).